Changes in linear graph exploration

I take so many great activities from math teacher blogs.  I know I need to start giving back.  Here is my first attempt:

This last summer I had a chance to work with Algebra I remediation for the end of course exam retakes.  Most of the work we did in  the limited time was skill based, but I still wanted to move past the worksheets.  On this day we had 2 hours to talk about changes in m and b on linear functions.  This was the last lesson of the week, and the following week concentrated on solving linear equations (with 1 or 2 variables).

Students were given a workmat and 3 different sets of cards.  The first set of cards had an assortment of linear equations.  The next set had different verbal descriptions of changes in slope.  The last set had verbal descriptions of changes in the constant or y-intercept.

Students enjoyed the random aspect of the problems, but some students also wanted to seek out different cards that were more challenging

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Changes in linear graph exploration

  1. jillgorneau says:

    Great activity, thanks for sharing. I’m doing the new blogger initiative as well and have been racking my brain for an activity I created to share, and I can’t come up with much! I’ve used, and have been grateful for the online sharing of others, time for me to do the same.

  2. druinok says:

    I’m stealing this one for Tuesday I think! If I give them a parent graph, then use it for shifting, etc I think that will work! Thank you, thank you, thank you!

    • loukas says:

      That’s a great idea. I had not thought of modifying it for parent functions and parameter changes, but that would fit great in algebra 2.

  3. Cool idea. Here’s a modification that comes to mind: If the three lines were plotted on the same set of axes, but colored (with highlighter, colored pencil, etc.) red, yellow, and green, that could emphasize the reflection and translation. Where is the line of reflection for the red and yellow lines, and why? What are the magnitude and direction of the translation from the yellow to the green, and why?

    If I were doing it based on a parent graph, as druinok suggests, I would probably leave the parent graph uncolored (pencil-lead-colored, really) and just color the transformed lines.

    p.s. I’m also a new blogger. Let’s keep it up!

  4. Jami Danielle says:

    I love this idea! Thank you for sharing. Definitely stealing it. =)

  5. Katie says:

    Love this idea. Can’t wait until my 8th graders start graphing in Oct/Nov.

  6. giammarco@cox.net says:

    Love this and I am going to use it for my 9th graders!!!

Leave a Reply

